Home


First Name:
Last Name:
State:

North Carolina Divorce Records

The application form to request North Carolina death, marriage or divorce records is the same. The appropriate section must be filled out on this form, available from the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Vital Records Unit. Divorce certificates from dissolution of marriages from 1958 to the present are available through the Vital Records Unit. An alternative way to access North Carolina divorce records, including those before 1958, is to go to the court in the county where the dissolution of marriage took place.

How To Access North Carolina Divorce Records

The fee for the search for a divorce record in North Carolina is $24. This cost includes a copy of the divorce certificate if the record is found. The fee is non-refundable if a record of the divorce is not found on file as the cost covers the search process. Additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time are $15 each.

Contact And Fee Information For North Carolina Divorce Records

In person counter service and mail order processing are both available from the Vital Records Unit. There is a $15 additional charge for same day, in person service at the Raleigh office. Orders processed through mail are sent first class. For expedited mail service of two weeks, from the date the request for North Carolina divorce records is received, an extra $10 fee should accompany your request form. It’s also important when choosing this option, to write “expedite” on the envelope and form.

In person address:

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Vital Records Unit
225 North McDowell St.
Raleigh, NC 27603-1382

Phone: (919) 733-3526 General questions
Phone: (919) 733-3000 Question about forms

Phone hours: Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm
Walk in hours: Monday – Friday 8am – 3pm

Mailing address:

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Vital Records Unit
1903 Mail Services Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1903

North Carolina Divorce Records Start 7-day Free Trial!

First Name:
Last Name:
State:

Divorce Records And North Carolina Law

According to North Carolina law, the fee for the search for a vital record must be paid before the service is provided. Cash is accepted for in person orders, but not through the mail. A money order, certified check or business check should be made payable to North Carolina Vital Records. Personal checks are not permitted.

When ordering North Carolina divorce records, you should state on the request form whether a certified copy is desired. If you are not sure whether or not you require a certified copy of a dissolution of marriage, it is best to telephone the Vital Records Unit at (919) 733-3000 to ask some questions before filling out your request form.

Under North Carolina law, GS 130A-26, the request form for vital records must be signed with the agreement that the information you have provided is true to the best of your knowledge. You must also list your relationship to the persons named on the North Carolina divorce records and your reason for requesting a copy of the document.

One of the Largest Sources of U.S. Divorce Records.