Divorce Records at Your Finger Tips

*Please enter (First Name, Last Name and State) above.

Michigan Divorce Records

Michigan divorce records are available from the court in the county where the dissolution of marriage took place or from the Community Health, Vital Records Office. If you’re not sure of which county the dissolution of marriage was granted, the Vital Records Office is usually able to verify that the record is on file in which county court. Anyone may request a divorce record in Michigan, so using the information for background check information is a popular option. You can also access your own Michigan divorce record to check for accuracy. Others may be accessing your dissolution of marriage such as in a dating background check or other screening, so it’s crucial to make sure your record is correct.

How To Access Michigan Divorce Records

A dissolution of marriage record is available either in person or by mail through the Vital Records Office in Lansing. The regular mail processing time is 5 weeks, but a Rush order of 3 weeks is available for a $10 fee. The fee for Michigan divorce records is $26 which still applies to the search whether or not the record is found. If you don’t know the year that the dissolution of marriage occurred, each year searched is $12.

Michigan Divorce Records Start 7-day Free Trial!

Contact And Fee Information For Michigan Divorce Records

In addition to regular divorce records, the exemplified authenticated type is also available from the Vital Records Office. This type of divorce record is often used for foreign matters involving adoption, residency and work visa applications. For any kind of Michigan divorce records request, you will need to have the full names of both persons on the dissolution of marriage, the divorce date and the county where it was granted.

Cash, money orders or credit cards are accepted in person for fee payments to access Michigan divorce records. Personal checks are not permitted and cash is not accepted for mail in divorce record requests. Same day, in person service has a charge of $10 and the record request must be placed at the service counter by 3pm. There may be up to a 2 hour wait for same day requests.

For in person record requests:

Michigan Department of Community Health
Vital Records Office
201 Townsend St.
Capitol View Building, 3rd Floor
Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: (517) 335-8656 Recorded message about vital records application forms

Phone: (517) 335-8666 Record request information line
Hours: Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm

For mail in record requests:

Michigan Department of Community Health
Vital Records Requests
PO Box 30721
Lansing, MI 48909

Divorce Records And Michigan Law

Under Michigan law, anyone may order certified copies of divorce records. A certified Michigan divorce record is printed on security paper and has an embossed, raised seal. As stated in law, MCL 333.2882, the appropriate search fee must be paid before access to Michigan divorce records is permitted. The request for these records must also be made in writing. In lieu of photo identification, three pieces of ID that confirms your birth date must accompany your divorce records request in Michigan.

Search millions of divorce records.

public divorce records